ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL

COUNCIL

CUSTOMER SERVICES

27 NOVEMBER 2014

COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL

1.0 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1.1 The purpose of this report is to inform the Council that the Executive Director Customer Services has received written notification advising of the resignation of Councillor Vivien Dance from the Argyll and Bute for Change Alliance with immediate effect on 1 September 2014.
- 1.2 The report further advises the Council of the resignation of Councillors Dick Walsh, Donnie MacMillan, Len Scoullar, Jimmy McQueen, Alistair MacDougall, Alex McNaughton and Robert G MacIntyre; as members of the Alliance of Independent Councillors; from the Argyll and Bute for Change Alliance with immediate effect from 5 September 2014.
- 1.3 Confirmation from Councillor Duncan MacIntyre; becoming a member of Argyll First with effect from 12 September 2014.
- 1.4 Resignation from Councillor Bruce Marshall; as a member of the Argyll and Bute For Change Alliance; with effect from 22 September 2014.
- 1.5 Confirmation from Councillor Iain Angus MacDonald on 24 September 2014; of withdrawal of membership from the Administration; and now becoming a member of the Scottish National Party.
- 1.6 Notification from Councillor Robert E MacIntyre; that he is no longer a member of the Argyll and Bute For Change Alliance; and has joined Argyll First with effect from 13 October 2014.
- 1.7 The election of Councillor Iain Stewart MacLean, who stood as an SNP candidate, to the vacancy in Ward 5 on 23 October 2014.
- 1.8 This report outlines the updated Political Composition of the Council.
- 1.9 It is recommended that the Council note the terms of this report.

CUSTOMER SERVICES

27 NOVEMBER 2014

COUNCIL COMPOSITION

2.0 INTRODUCTION

- 2.1 The purpose of this report is to inform the Council that the Executive Director Customer Services has received written notification advising of the resignation of Councillor Vivien Dance from the Argyll and Bute for Change Alliance with immediate effect on 1 September 2014.
- 2.2 The report further advises the Council of the resignation of Councillors Dick Walsh, Donnie MacMillan, Len Scoullar, Jimmy McQueen, Alistair MacDougall, Alex McNaughton and Robert G MacIntyre; as members of the Alliance of Independent Councillors; from the Argyll and Bute for Change Alliance with immediate effect from 5 September 2014.
- 2.3 Confirmation from Councillor Duncan MacIntyre; becoming a member of Argyll First with effect from 12 September 2014.
- 2.4 Resignation from Councillor Bruce Marshall; as a member of the Argyll and Bute For Change Alliance; with effect from 22 September 2014.
- 2.5 Confirmation from Councillor Iain Angus MacDonald on 24 September 2014; of withdrawal of membership from the Administration; and now becoming a member of the Scottish National Party.
- 2.6 Notification from Councillor Robert E MacIntyre; that he is no longer a member of the Argyll and Bute For Change Alliance; and has joined Argyll First with effect from 13 October 2014.
- 2.7 The election of Councillor Iain Stewart MacLean, who stood as an SNP candidate, to the vacancy in Ward 5 on 23 October 2014.

3.0 RECOMMENDATIONS

3.1 The Council is invited to note the terms of the report.

4.0 DETAIL

4.1 At the date of this report the composition of groups on the Council is as follows:-

Argyll and Bute Council Political Composition

ARGYLL FIRST (5)

Donald Kelly (Con) (Leader of Argyll First)

Duncan MacIntyre (Ind)
John McAlpine (Ind)
Douglas Philand (Ind)(Depute Provost)
Robert E Macintyre (Ind)

THE ARGYLL, LOMOND AND THE ISLANDS GROUP (11)

Rory Colville (LD)

Robin Currie (LD)

Aileen Morton (LD)

Ellen Morton (LD) (Leader of the Argyll, Lomond and the Islands Group)(Depute Leader of the Council)

Maurice Corry (Con)

David Kinniburgh (Con)

Gary Mulvaney (Con)

Elaine Robertson (Ind)

George Freeman (Ind)

Roddy McCuish (Ind)

Mary Jean Devon (Ind)

ALLIANCE OF INDEPENDENT COUNCILLORS (7)

Dick Walsh (Leader of Alliance of Independent Councillors)/ (Leader of the Council)

Alistair MacDougall (Ind)

Donnie MacMillan (Ind)

Alex McNaughton (Ind)

Jimmy McQueen (Ind)

Len Scoullar (Ind) (Provost)

Robert G MacIntyre (Ind)

SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY GROUP (7)

Sandy Taylor (Leader of SNP Group)

Anne Horn

James Robb

Isobel Strong

Richard Trail

William Gordon Blair

Iain Stewart MacLean

Iain Angus MacDonald (Ind)

It is understood that Councillor MacDonald will form part of the SNP group of Councillors, formal confirmation of that position is awaited as at the date of this report.

Vivien Dance (Ind)

Neil MacIntyre (LAB)

Bruce Marshall (Ind)	Bruce	Marshall	(Ind)
----------------------	-------	----------	-------

Michael Breslin (NPA)

Note:

Ind = Independent

SNP = Scottish National Party

NPA = Not Politically Affiliated

LD = Liberal Democrat

Con = Conservative

LAB = Labour

5.0 CONCLUSION

5.1 Following the resignation of a number of Councillors from the Argyll and Bute for Change Alliance, the Council is invited to note the terms of this report and the updated composition of the Council.

6.0 IMPLICATIONS

- 6.1 Policy None
- 6.2 Financial None
- 6.3 Legal None
- 6.4 HR None
- 6.5 Equalities None
- 6.6 Risk None
- 6.7 Customer Service None

Douglas Hendry - Executive Director of Customer Services

19 November 2014

For further information contact: Charles Reppke, Head of Governance and Law Tel: 01546 604192